Wolf in sheep’s clothing…

Beware of wolves in sheep’s clothing. A very old saying, with it’s oldest roots tracing back to Aesop’s fables (with multiple ‘retelling’ versions today), which predated the Biblical New Testament. Regardless the warning is just as relevant today as it was 2000+ years ago. Beware of those who come presenting themselves as harmless or helpful when in fact they are dangerous and destructive. False teachers, false prophets, false christs. All warned about in the New Testament. Beware of deceivers is the message. According to the New Testament the current ruler of the world is Satan. Satan is also known as the father of lies. So if the Father of Lies is the ruler of the world do we live in a time of great openness and honesty or great darkness and deception?

Note: for the record I no longer follow a religion but have rediscovered my spiritual self, and at one time made a very sincere and focused effort to be a true follower and disciple of Jesus Christ. Hence, I spent a good deal of time self studying the Bible. I also live in North Texas a very conservative Christian area. I’m assuming many readers of this blog profess to be ‘Christians’ or at least have a basic understanding of the Christian faith. Hence I want to use this position to make a point.

If I were to go into any church and ask any of the committed members about false teachers and false prophets I would hear an answer similar to this;

Oh yes I believe there are false teachers and false prophets, thankfully not here, but the church across the street and the denomination down the road have lot’s of problems with them.

And if I go to the church across the street and down the road and ask the same question I’m going to get the same answer. Which means what? Every denomination has false teachers and false prophets and hence all churches are under some level of deception. I can personally attest to this as one time I was under the same delusion. My church, my denomination, is the one not deceived, but that church down the street…

We are all deceived. It is human nature to believe that ‘I’ am not deceived, but someone else is. It is human nature to resist admitting ones been deceived. It is human nature to see the faults in other peoples or institutions, denominations but be blind to those of our own. The irony, tragedy, insidiousness of the fact that a ‘Christian’ should implicitly understand that deception is a serious problem and yet be thoroughly deceived. It speaks to the power of deception.

But wolves in sheep’s clothing are not exclusive to Christianity. No they exist in every religion, every government, every education system, every country, every nation. I think today the proper word is ‘infestation’. I wonder sometimes if the wolves in sheep’s clothing now out number the sheep… and I’m sure in some places this is the case. I’m would also assume that if this happens the wolves start inadvertently consuming one another… which sounds like a good thing to me.

Once upon a time a Wolf resolved to disguise his appearance in order to secure food more easily. Encased in the skin of a sheep, he pastured with the flock deceiving the shepherd by his costume. In the evening he was shut up by the shepherd in the fold; the gate was closed , and the entrance made thoroughly secure. But the shepherd, returning to the fold during the night to obtain meat for the next day, mistakenly caught up the Wolf instead of a sheep, and killed him instantly.

Aesop’s Fables – George Fyler Townsends 1867 translation

Beware of false prophets, which come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ravening wolves.

Matthew 7:15 – King James Version 1611

 

Leave a Reply

